I was raised by a single mother of 3 kids.  I had two older brothers.  My dad was an alcoholic, and my mother divorced him when I was six.  My dad was absent in my life for about 20 years.  I was still daddy’s little girl when our relationship was rekindled.  My dad became ill with cancer and was called home quickly just 3 years ago.  I miss him a lot.  I’m very grateful for the memories that we do have.  I took care of him when the cancer attacked his whole body.  I’m so grateful that I was able to do that for my daddy.  We grew up going to church every Sunday and Wednesday.  We were very loved.  My mom worked 3 jobs to take care of us.  She loved us and spoiled me.  My mom is my best friend.  I became addicted to pain pills when I had my gallbladder removed in 2002.  In 2005 I started doing time, in and out.  I had my first child when I was 14.  I have 3 handsome boys.  They all live with my mom.  In 2014 I violated my community corrections.  I was sentenced to DC4 Davidson County Drug Court.  I went there without any hope of getting better than I already had, as this was my 17th treatment.  I always thought that I was like that 1% that just couldn’t stay clean.  I also never just had a reason to stay clean, because I knew that the kids would always be taken care of.  28 months later today I don’t have a reason to get high no matter what.  I have hope and faith in myself and others that I didn’t know that I needed.  I live a spiritual life today.  I’m not talking about religion.  I’m talking about with people, really connecting with them – caring and loving people was all foreign to me before.  I fully rely on God and try my best to stay in His will.  I’ve changed my whole lifestyle.  I don’t want people to hurt anymore because of my actions.  The joy that I have when I’m around my family and children is priceless.  No high could ever compare to being the woman that I am today.  Today I have dreams and goals that I’m putting action behind to make them be reality.  When I’m finished with DC4 I’m going to go back to school to become a LADAC (Licensed Alcohol Drug Addiction Counselor) and I want to help incarcerated women find the hope and faith that they need to change.  I also want to help teenage girls that are pregnant because I had a child at the age of 14 and know what it’s like.  I’m giving my mother her daughter back, my kids their mother back, my brothers and sister back, all while getting my self-love and respect back.  Life is an amazing journey that I want to be a part of every moment of the way.

Dora

“There are no two moments in time alike; therefore, Live in The Moment, No Matter What!”

Dora

A formerly-incarcerated recovering addict and mother

Dora’s Blue Swirl Tote

Changes and Updates coming soon. Purses are not currently available for purchase. Stay tuned... Dismiss